Corner

Consumer Report

India
The following is a consumer report compiled from the various product(s) of Canon India Private Limited. It contains statistics of consumer complaints, consumer court data, consumer cases, criticisms, praises, reviews and public interest in general  about the product(s) of this company. This consumer report is only applicable to consumers in India.

Canon India Private Limited

Canon India Private Limited logo

Consumer Satisfaction Level (CSL)

4.49
(Below Average score out of 10.00)
Company is below average
Corner
Company (also known as)Canon
Company PrincipalKensaku Konishi, President and Chief Executive ...
Company Webpagehttp://www.canon.co.in
Company Phone+91 1244160000
Company EmailUnknown
Company Address2nd Floor, Tower A & B
Cyber Greens, DLF Phase III
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
India 122002
Customer Care OfficerCustomer Care Officer, Customer Care Officer
Customer Care Phone+91 8001803366
Customer Care EmailUnknown
Corner
CornerCorner
Corner

Consumer Feedback

Corner
CornerCorner
Corner

CSL History

Corner
CornerCorner
Click here to see the consumer satisfaction level of a company which quantifies the consumer confidence of a company on a scale of (lowest) 0 to 10 (highest).  Click here to see the detailed trend of consumer satisfaction levels of the company.
Corner

Consumer Court Judgment Data*

Corner
CornerCorner
Corner

Cases Won (%)

Pie Chart
Corner
CornerCorner
Corner
Corner
CornerCorner
Consumerdaddy has no affiliation with Canon India Private Limited, any of its competitors, any consumer complaint redressal agencies, consumer courts or consumer forums. Consumerdaddy does not endorse or disapprove the use of its products and merely supplies data regarding consumer complaints, criticisms, praises, reviews and public interest in general about this product reported to us by our website customers / visitors. Data provided in this page is provided as is, without any implicit or explicit guarantees regarding its completeness, accuracy or reliability. Usage of this page must be strictly in accordance with the  terms and conditions of the website. The words consumer and customer are used interchangeably in the industry, so consumer complaints can also be referred to as customer complaints.Consumer Report for India
Print ReportPrint ReportGo to HomeGo to HomeGo to TopGo to Top
Corner
CornerCorner
 
Corner

Consumer Comments

 
 
Corner
CornerCorner
 
Corner

Consumer Reviews and Complaints

 
 
Canon Laser PrintersProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Laser Printers
Laser Printers  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 1 Year ago by fbuser6...CSL 4.46
I purchased Canon laser print on 20th October 2012 (Model number mf4412, Invoice number ). When I started to print pages this tonner prints only 250 pages. But actually the correct toner prints 2700 pages. And i have complaint three times within 10 days but no response from the company. When I approached the customer care they ask me to buy a new one. My product is brand new. I want them to replace the toner at the earliest if not I want them to refund my money. I have raised so many complaints with this regard complaint number 592252.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Video CamerasProduct is Excellent
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Video Cameras
Click here to submit a review for Canon Video Cameras
Video Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 9.71 2 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 5.09
I first used a SLR in high school. It was a very basic manual film camera. I enjoyed learning about why a SLR is superior to a PAS, and found out how much I liked photography. I used some of my skills later in the fire service taking pictures at fire scenes. I used a SLR, but mostly on full auto. Recently, I got back in to photography due to a friend who is heavily in to it. He recommended the Canon 500D, as he owned one previously. I bought mine at www.gizmo.bz along with the Canon 18-55 kit lens. Right out of the box, I was taking excellent photos. I either forgot or never learned about things like DOF, white balance, filter use, and many other joys of SLR use. I was learning DOF and playing with my settings, and the very first portrait I took was outstanding. Since then, I learn, or re-learn new things daily. This camera has been excellent every step of the way. The camera is easy to use and has brought the joy and fun
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 2 Years ago by fbuser6...CSL 3.34
I purchased a canon digital camera from M/S Mahajan Electronics Co., 9, Exchange road, Kachi Chowni, Jammu, Tawi-18001 on 12/5/2012. When I visited the dealer of canon he showed me a catalogue on which cost of Canon A2200 was Rs.6495/-. When I asked to the dealer how much discount you will give me on this camera, he clearly told me that I am the only authorized dealer in Jammu and I will be give you a discount for Rs.1000/- and you have to pay a RS.5500/-. I told him that if possible you give me it on Rs.5000/- he told me not possible. Then I said fine. I made the payment for the bill and I paid the amount Rs.5500/-. Then he briefed me the details of the camera and showed me how to handle the product. Then he packed it in a bag and I came back to my residence. When I opened the box from bag I saw that the MRP is written as Rs.5495/-. After seeing this I got shocked that how a dealer can sell a product and issue a bill more than the MRP i.e. Rs.5500/- bill Sr. No. 309 of date 12/5/2012. Now I am complaining that such a fraudulent/cheating has been done by the canon dealer. Now I want complete compensation for this event and a suitable fine should also be issued against such a fraud dealer. I sent a mail to company available in section available in Email us of M/S Canon India Ltd. later company personnel contacted me on 17/5/12 and expressed his sorry for the behavior of his dealer and he told me that dealer will return his difference amount. But matter is that dealer is telling me that I have taken Rs.5 extra more than MRP I will return the same. But my matter is how he can be punished for his cheating behavior and keeping me in dilemma. I feel cheated and I want a suitable action to be taken against the dealer for cheating.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Video CamerasProduct is Excellent
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Video Cameras
Click here to submit a review for Canon Video Cameras
Video Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 9.57 2 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 5.09
Canon SX30- Very good camera purchased from www.gizmo.bz. After several weeks of use I am pleased with performance of this camera. The image quality is what you would expect from Canon. Even at full optical zoom the quality of the images is very good and better than I thought it would be.The basic operation is exceptionally easy and most of the advanced features are relatively simple to access and use. The button for the "zoom framing assist" is placed where it is too easy to bump while holding the camera with a normal grip which causes the lens to zoom in and out. Other than being annoying it already has cost me a few shots by the time the camera was ready to shoot again. The main reason I decided on this camera was the 35X zoom to use on wildlife. The pictures I have taken this far have actually came out better than I had hoped for. I have been able to use the zoom to its full advantage and most of the time the image quality did not drop off as the zoom increased.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 2 Years ago by das82CSL 3.34
I had purchased a digital camera of Canon (SX120) on January2010. The camera has warranty for a period of 2 years. Just after 2 years the camera became non-functional. After that I visited the Canon India service centre at Shakesphere Sarani on 17/03/2012. The problem was showing-"Lens error, restart the camera. This is a complete technical error. When I visited the service centre they told me the repair charges can vary from Rs.1103 to Rs.1800.00 maximum and they kept it for inspection. On 20/03/2012 one lady called me up that I have to pay an amount of Rs.5500.00 to repair the camera and if I take the same without repair then I have to pay Rs.221.00 for inspection charge. The receipt number for the payment is 1365 on 21st Mar 2012. I had paid an amount of Rs.14000.00 to purchase the camera and to pay another of Rs.5500.00 is not possible. The camera like Canon lasts for only 2years? I lodged a complaint at Canon India site. I was attended by Mr. Prabhakar Choudhury (Marketing Engineer Division). I was offered a 10 discount on total cost (Rs.5500.00). Sir, My question is if a high cost camera last only for 2 years that should be taken care of the organization as it is completely a technical fault, but I did not get any positive feedback from the concerned authority. After getting the feedback, I mailed to Mr.Rahul Goel(Asst. Director-CII service) for further consideration to repair the camera at free of cost. He replied me that it is not possible for them. I want to point out one thing that I was never told about the inspection charges when I visited their service centre to repair the camera. I was informed by phone on 20/03/2012. I have all the mail copies regarding the communications with Canon India officials. I want them to immediately repair my camera free of cost.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 3 Years ago by jaibaireCSL 3.34
I purchased a Canon IXUS 105(SL) digital camera on Oct 27, 2010. Before three weeks it completely stopped working. I immediately took it to the showroom. They are citing reasons like mishandling, water logging, soiled, battery leakage, non standard accessories used and many more reasons which are completely false. They have offered to repair at a cost, which is higher than the cost of a new camera. The camera is still under warranty. I want them to replace it or repair it free of cost.I have written to them asking to show a concession saying that I will bear 50 even though it is under warranty. They are not budging and seems very adamant. The camera carries 2 years warranty and it should be repaired free of cost.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Inkjet PrintersProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Inkjet Printers
Inkjet Printers  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 3 Years ago by TARKESHWARCSL 4.53
I have purchased PSC canon ink-jet printer and scanner from Best Computer vide receipt no.156 dt on 02 Nov 2009. Third day after the installation it started giving warnings and stopped working. Shri Gairola was sent by the dealer who rectified the problem but after 2 days same problem again started. Dealer said the ink cartridge should be changed which cost more than Rs.1000/-. I asked him for how many pages the ink will last. The dealer said that it will give 10 to 15 pages print outs. I was shocked to hear that each print from this printer will cost Rs.100/-. I asked the dealer to inform canon customer care and the company sent one representative who tried to repair but was unable to resolve. I requested for enabling only scanner portion so that some function/use can be availed for my money. They informed me that there is no way that without installing new cartridge the scanner can function. As this is company policy for enforcing compulsory purchase of cartridge as a profit making tool. That too at a very high cost. After that for one year no one ever came for rectifying the fault even after repeated requests. This all happened between purchase date and Jan2010. I want them to replace the printer or refund my money
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 3 Years ago by MananCSL 3.34
I have purchased canon digital camera model no – ps a495 for Rs 5429.55/- on Oct 30, 2010. My bill no is 49638 and product serial no: 48061002523. I have purchased from Sales India private limited. I have found the damage on my camera battery. The cover lock of the camera is not working properly. So I visited to canon customer service center located in Ahmadabad with my warranty card and the bill. They examined the camera and said one plastic part of the lock was broken. So I have to change with new cover and that will be a chargeable and amount is nearly Rs 630. The camera is in the warranty period and they claim a charge for repairing. So I request them to repair the camera free of cost. My case memo no and date is 49638 and Oct 31st, 2010. I want them to repair that in free of cost.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Complaint 3 Years ago by cdvoraCSL 3.34
I had purchased Canon brand new camera, model no. Power Shot SX 120IS on 23rd June 2010 from canon dealer G.N.Hakim, Vadodara. On the very third day on 26th June 2010, dust was observed on the LCD screen. I have contacted the dealer G.N.Hakim, Vadodara. The camera was sent to service center Ahmedabad on 29th June 2010. I do not understand that how the dust appeared on the very third day from the purchase of camera. I have my own doubts that the camera is defective piece and instead of replacing the camera it was sent for repairing. The camera was returned back from canon service centre, Ahmadabad on 20th July 2010. After repairing the camera the same problem that is dust appeared at the same place, where it was appeared earlier and a black spot was also appearing on every photograph. So the camera was given back to G.N.Hakim regarding the complaint on 28th October 2010 which returned back to me on 3rd November 2010. In this connection I talked to Ahmadabad service center about this problem and it was promised by Ahmadabad service people that now onwards there will be no problem with this camera, and it was also told by Mr. Girish of canon sales department that if any problem arises now onwards, they will replace the camera. But it is very sorry to say that the same problem that is the black spot was appearing on every photograph, even after repairing from Ahmadabad service center and once again the camera was sent back to service center via dealer for repair on 21st November 2010. The camera was returned back to me 27th November. It is observed that after last repair, the problem of faint black shadow on all the four sides of LCD screen as well on photograph was observed. For this matter, I complained to Canon service centre head Mr. Naryan Kambli on 2nd December on telephone and also I sent him the latest photograph taken on 29th and 30th November 2010 by e-mail. In reply Mr. Kambli replied that he will let me know the replay on 6th December 2010, but thereafter Canon people have not cared to replay or taken any action in this regard. I do not understand after so many repairs from the beginning itself, how many times I will have to get it repaired every now and then, that I do not know. It is clear cut manufacturing defect even then Canon people have not cared to replace the camera. I have to rush to dealer for rectification, of and on. I am not happy with this type of service and attitude. When it is very much clear that it is a defective piece, I fail to understand that why they are not replacing my camera with another one. It is very much common understanding that if such type of technical defect arises within 2 to 3 days, it should be replaced, not repaired. Now it is very high time and I want a new replacement, or Canon should give me my money back so I can purchase another camera of other brand
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
Canon Inkjet PrintersProduct is Very Good
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Inkjet Printers
Click here to submit a review for Canon Inkjet Printers
Inkjet Printers  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 8.56 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 4.53
Canon Inkjet printers are the real deal. The printer is efficient, fast and economical. The printer also has a number of compatible cartridges. This is a big advantage as any cartridge which is compatible can be used. Most of the time the exact cartridge model is not available and it is really helpful to have a compatible cartridge. Also the cartridge costs much less compared to the hp brand. The printer also uses lesser ink and has lower maintenance costs. The printer can print ten percent more pages with the same amount of ink. All the inkjet printers can also print photos.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon Laser PrintersProduct is Terrible
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Laser Printers
Click here to submit a review for Canon Laser Printers
Laser Printers  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 1.00 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 4.46
Canon laser printers are considerably average. They are not as good as many other brands. The printer is not very fast and it does not print very many sizes. Also the printer is expensive and has huge maintenance costs. The printer has an elaborate installation procedure for its drives. The interface is user friendly however. It has too many features. The printing preferences have a slider in the light to dark range. The print quality can be accordingly adjusted to suit the user. I recently bought a canon printer and it was worth the money. The printer however is not very user friendly.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Excellent
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Click here to submit a review for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 9.57 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 3.34
Cannon digital camera provides really good quality pictures. The new 11 megapiex camera is simply awesome. It really made my honeymoon memorable. They are really easy to handle. They are quite small and easy to handle. The provide cool photo editing software built-in with the camera. Their zoom also provides really good quality images. I never really liked the old cannon too much but the news ones are really reliable. Usually the pictures taken in well lit rooms are always shaky or unclear but i never had such problems with my new cannon. The best thing about this is that they are really light weighted that i have no problem in carrying them around. They are also reasonably priced compared to the other brands.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon ScannersProduct is Excellent
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Scanners
Click here to submit a review for Canon Scanners
Scanners  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 9.50 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 5.05
Using this scanner is so easy. I once, directed over phone to my house maid, who easily did the job to me. Its very easy to maintain this. It is fast, reliable and has a great image quality and the cost is also worth it. Who would not want spend some money, if he has a promising scanner that runs continuously for 3 years
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
 
Canon Digital Photo CamerasProduct is Excellent
Click here to submit a complaint for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Click here to submit a review for Canon Digital Photo Cameras
Digital Photo Cameras  by Canon India Private Li...
Rated 9.14 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 3.34
I gifted a PowerShot A480 camera for my parents wedding aniversary, its 10 mega pixel with good zoom and clarity. Camera is good for elderly people as it has minimum and easy to use features. AA battery is the drawback, i would have been happy if it was a lithiom-ion battery. Night shoots are not that impressive compared to day light photos. Overall its a ideal gift for around Rs. 6000. Low cost, value for money, budget camera with good features.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
Go to HomeGo to HomeGo to TopGo to Top
Corner
CornerCorner