Corner

Consumer Report

India
The following is a consumer report of the Savings Accounts from HDFC Bank Limited. It contains statistics of consumer complaints, consumer court data, consumer cases, customer criticisms, customer praises, consumer reviews and public interest in general about the product. This consumer report is only applicable to consumers in India.

HDFC Bank Savings Accounts

HDFC Bank Savings Accounts image
From HDFC Bank Limited
In Finance > Banking > Savings_Account
Approximate Price INR .00
Click here to see the higher ranked product in this category.49
Click here to see the lower ranked product in this category.
(Rank out of 77)
Report Effective Date Apr 24, 2014
Daddy Says ''This Product is too new in our database to provide an opinion about.''
Product is terrible

Consumer Satisfaction

1.73
(Terrible score out of 10.00)
The objective of HDFC Bank is to build sound customer franchises across distinct businesses so as to be the preferred provide of banking services and to achieve healthy growth in profitability with the banks appetite. The core business values include operational excellence, customer centric, product leadership and people. Different types of savings accounts offered by HDFC Bank are regular, savings plus, savings max, senior citizens, no frills, institutional savings, salary, kids advantage, pension, family, kisan no frills and kisan no frills etc. Savings accounts are accounts maintained by retail financial institutions that pay interest but can not be used directly as money (by, for example, writing a cheque). These accounts etc customers set aside a portion of their liquid assets while earning a monetary return.
Corner

Consumer Feedback

Corner
CornerCorner
Corner

CSL History

Corner
CornerCorner
Click here to see the consumer satisfaction level of a company which quantifies the consumer confidence of a company on a scale of (lowest) 0 to 10 (highest).  Click here to see the detailed trend of consumer satisfaction levels of the company.
Corner

Consumer Court Judgment Data*

Corner
CornerCorner
Corner

Cases Won (%)

Pie Chart
Corner
CornerCorner
Corner
Adherence to Regulationsratings
Authenticity / Transparency / Ethicsratings
Ease of Operation / User-Friendlinessratings
Economy of Maintenanceratings
Heritage / Prestige / Brand valueratings
Infrastructure / Facilitiesratings
Professionalism / Qualification of Staffratings
Reliabilityratings
Safetyratings
Consumer Satisfaction Level Summaryratings
Corner
CornerCorner
Consumerdaddy has no affiliation with HDFC Bank Limited, any of its competitors, any consumer complaint redressal agencies, consumer courts or consumer forums. Consumerdaddy does not endorse or disapprove the use of its products and merely supplies data regarding consumer complaints, criticisms, praises, reviews and public interest in general about this product reported to us by our website customers / visitors. Data provided in this page is provided as is, without any implicit or explicit guarantees regarding its completeness, accuracy or reliability. Usage of this page must be strictly in accordance with the  terms and conditions of the website. The words consumer and customer are used interchangeably in the industry, so consumer complaints can also be referred to as customer complaints.Consumer Report for India
Print ReportPrint ReportGo to HomeGo to HomeGo to TopGo to Top
Corner
CornerCorner
 
Corner

Consumer Comments

 
 
Corner
CornerCorner
 
Corner

Consumer Reviews and Complaints

 
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 1 Year ago by Nasreen...CSL 1.73
I have an account in hdfc bank (Lokhandwala branch andheri west Mumbai, India) in the name of: Noorjahan Nooruddin Kazi a/c no. 0159100xxxxx there is unrecognized withdrawn from my account again and again and card is with me only as the contact no. of my son is given to bank i was unaware of the withdrawals from my account. But the bank is not taking responsibility. I have filed the complaint in Oshiwara police station on 22nd April 2012 after that we went to the bank on 23rd April 2012 to lodge the complaint for taking further action against the crime. I want our money back which we have not withdrawn from our account.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 1 Year ago by meet2babluCSL 1.73
I am preferred customer of HDFC BANK Karimnagar branch since 8 years (Savings Account number 0518170xxxx), recently i withdrawn cash bearing cheque numbers 597168 and 597169. I clearly wrote on cheque as "self" I sent my brother to the bank to withdraw cash (those cheques cash). After he withdrawn cash Hdfc bank mentioned in bank statement those cheques cash amount paid to my brother M. Sunilkanth (those are clearly self drawn cheques how those can mention third parties names). So many times i requested Hdfc Bank officials those are refusing to correct those entries as self drawn in my bank statement. In my bank statement clearly that entry showing as cash paid to Mr. M. Sunilkanth complaint number registered with hdfc bank PNO-112-427-MS. I want them to mention in the statement as self and not to mention any third parties (they accepted their mistake and assured they will rectify it but they are not doing so)
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 1 Year ago by kailashsCSL 1.73
I had a savings account in hdfc (Savings ac no -19711930xxxx), oppankara street branch, Coimbatore linked to that I had a debit card. I was not informed that the debit card had a 1% cash back option for every purchase. I had used the card several times and I had cash back of around 5000/- I was not informed while closing the account that I had to redeem it. And I was not aware of it. Now the account is closed. I called up hdfc phone banking and they said is it possible to redeem it and they will transfer it to my live account. But when I contacted the branch they said they will get back to me. And it’s more than 10 days I’ve not got any response. As well each one is giving a different response from the branch one of them saying it’s not possible to get it back. I’m just asking them to give the cash back for my usage.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 1 Year ago by RameshSoniCSL 1.73
I wanted to withdraw money from ATM of PNB/CANARA and SBI at Bahadurgarh Haryana -Rohtak Delhi Road located ATMs from the SRI RAM Complex. All these ATMs were having network issue on day of 170702012 timing 8:38:39Hrs was the reason I tried all these ATMs. But I did not get cash dispensed from any of the ATM and went home without money. When I reached home I saw a SMS in my home cell phone that Rs. 10000.00 has been debited to my account (Savings account number 0485114xxxxxx). Immediately I return back to these ATMs and found that PNB engineer for ATM was working to rectify the snag of ATM machine and I explain my case with him, he told me that some time system issue and you will get your fund back in day or two. Till the time I was not sure the bank from which ATM amount has been debited. Again reach back to home and called up Toll free of HDFC and registered a complaint and promise that I will get response in 5 days. Also I called up one of my friend working with HDFC as regional manager to assist. He also said the same as mentioned. After three weeks follow-ups HDFC has come back to me that PNB ATms transaction was successful whereas DUTY GUARD/SERVICE ENGINEER and other two more customers who were trying to withdraw funds are the witness of ATMs not working conditions. Also there may be tracking of reducing balance of ATM machine and CCTV footage which can prove easily the genuine of the transactions till date I have not been provided any one of these proof. Yesterday again visited to PNB with the help of one of Police officer to get help of PNB where as HDFC team should have arrange all such information’s to satisfy their customer. I am having my salary account with HDFC since Last year April 2011.I want them to refund my 10,000 rupees immediately.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 2 Years ago by chill_o...CSL 1.73
My HDFC savings account number is 0136105 xxxxxxx. I have 2 savings account with HDFC, obviously with the worst bank to approach for anything as everybody knows which is very much evident on the "less" customer base that they have. Just a little background about my acct. usage, I mostly use HDFC savings account for transactions like deposit cash in it to pay my HDFC and other credit cards and I do this with other savings accts as well, on a month on month basis for a long time now. The complaint with HDFC savings acct is that whenever I deposit cash in it they tend to take some cash out of that giving some or the other reason non-maintenance of AQB or Card fee or 3rd party transaction. Mostly saying that they charge for non-maintenence of Average Quarterly Balance (AQB). Please check the below points of what this bank really does to their poor customers and particularly me. 3rd point is the most important of all. Point 1.) Charging customers for non-maintenence of AQB is not wrong but the charge is staggeringly high. Point 2.) My other banks do not charge me for non-maintenence of AQB at all (for example : ICICI and AXIS) so why only HDFC does it? Point 3.) The most important point is that the customers are not informed about the charge in any way, in other words the system is designed in such a way that it waits for the customers to deposit cash (like a vulture) and then it swipes out half of the cash. So why are they charging customers in a stealthy manner. Rather than informing about the charge. While other banks clearly mention it in the statement, even if there is "0" balance in the account like Rs.-100 with a description "AQB charges for Jan-Apr" so that we know that there is a charge and we can prepare ourselves for the charge. Unlike HDFC who just waits for the cash to come in and charge them immediately. I deposited Rs. 2000 in this savings account to pay my credit card which is the minimum amount due that I have to pay my HDFC credit card. Once when the amount in seen in the account they immediately took Rs.600 for AQB charges and Rs. 100 for Debit card fee and some Rs.55 for 3rd party transaction for depositing in my own bank account using other HDFC bank branch. Funny part is that these charges were initiated a long time before in a "Hidden Mode" so that only the bank officials can see them and the customers cannot see them even on their online system or by calling the customer care. So nearly Rs.755 is swiped out of my account immediately. Now I do not have the minimum amount to pay HDFC card so I paid the remaining i.e Rs.1245 to HDFC credit card and now the HDFC credit card division charged me non-payment fee, as the system does not recognize any payments less than Rs.2000. (So it is like a chain reaction they just keep on charging customers like they are fools). I have contacted customer care by phone and by email several times regarding the same issue and they simply repeat the same saying that they cannot do anything to help the situation. Try to correct the issue by letting the customers know about the charges what they have to pay and not to steal their money without their knowledge.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 2 Years ago by Ramamoo...CSL 1.73
I have salary account in HDFC bank annanagar, Chennai-102 branch ( saving a/c number- 068710500XXXXX) and I was in a critical position of cash requirement and I asked one of my friends to deposit Rs.1500 in to my SB account. For that amount they have charged 110 rs as third party deposit. Regarding this when I talked over phone the officials (on 28.09.11) said it’s the bank rule and we can’t do anything. And u might aware about it. We are not responsible for that in any manner. When I insisted that other banks are not charging like this so u kindly take a request and reverse the amount deducted. But they told that there s no possibility and they did not treat me as a customer .The official said that hey have no profit for salary accounts so we are charging. If it is so then why their official from corporate salary division approaches the companies? When we opened the account they never tell the terms of deposit and deductions. But when I asked about it with the official he told that they gave welcome kid and we have to know it thro by studying the welcome kid. Actually the kid is given after opening the account i.e with out the information anything about the terms then how can we know about the banks rules etc? So I am very much depressed as a customer of HDFC bank and unnecessarily I lost my money. I want them to refund my money.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 2 Years ago by avinash...CSL 1.73
I am an hdfc bank saving account holder (credit card no. 43467731004XXXXX), I have taken a credit card in November 2010 from the bank, now I have some dues of credit card, and I am ready to pay it in terms of minimum balance but credit card department made a hold on my saving accounts balance (bank a/c no. 043211400XXXXX). As I have never given authority to bank or to the credit card department to make hold on my bank account any time. Bank has no authority to hold my account balances of any one request. My account balance is 9079 rs. , as I am an UN employed person I need that money to start some business I am in pretty much need of it. I want them to release my savings account and I will pay the card balance every month with a minimal amount.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 2 Years ago by nikipandeyCSL 1.73
I have an HDFC savings account. The account number is 0485114 xxxxxxx. I went to withdraw Rs.1000 from Citibank ATM on 2nd floor in Ambience Mall, Gurgaon on 5th May 2011 at 4:40pm. However, this ATM was not working. When I was trying to use it, it was showing Error screen and again going back to main screen. So, I took my ATM card and went to Citibank ATM on ground floor in Ambience Mall, Gurgaon. I used my card and withdrew Rs.1000. When I checked the balance, there was also a withdrawal of Rs.10,000 apart from Rs.1000 withdrawn by me. I lodged a complaint on the same day to HDFC bank (complaint no. 208876). I was told that this would be resolved in 12 working days. I also gave them the ATM receipt which clearly shows that I have withdrawn only Rs.1000 and Rs.11,000 have been wrongly debited from my account. Also, I was told that they would get in touch with Citibank and resolve this. However, now I am informed that I need to get this resolved from Citibank. I am trying to get my account balance updated for the last 20 days, but the matter is still pending. This is due to the faulty ATM machines that youve installed and customers are getting harassed unnecessarily. I want HDFC to investigate on this and provide me the refund.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 2 Years ago by maheshn...CSL 1.73
I have account in HDFC from last 6 six years (Account number 013310XXXXXXXX). But now I find there is no security for our money in HDFC. On May 1, 2011 at 3am I got the call from Risk team, stating that some fishing is happening from my account. Later when I checked 13 transactions (1500) of same account is happened. This shows anybody can play with our money HDFC does not have security. Till today I never used my HDFC online banking in any Browsing centre I use only from my laptop. I am wondering how one can transact with my account. When I call the Branch and customer Care they are telling that it will be investigated and my account is blocked and the complaint number MUM008200. I want to know why this happen whether I get my money back or not. What is the guarantee, will bank give the assurance that it will not have happen in future. This is very unfortunate that I am getting such type of loose and unfavorable response from the reputed bank like HDFC I am holding the bank account with HDFC bank from 6 Year and handling the Net banking from almost the same duration. As a responsible person I know the cost of disclosing or sharing my personal bank data to anyone. So the responses which I have received from the bank is totally irresponsible and give many more questions towards integrity and the security and carelessness approach of the bank towards the hard earned money of the customer. On 1st of May when I communicated to your risk team that these transitions are not done by me and it has been clearly mentioned that please don’t honor the transaction and asked for the reversal of the same stating it as a fake and hacked transactions. I know when the transactions has took place in the mid of night then merchant account would have not been settled in the mid night it would have settled in next working. Despite of my escalation you have not bothered to get my amount reversed. Even in the transactions it was clearly stating that the amount was used on the Vodafone Payment site the number on which the payment is made could have contacted by the risk team. On the first day I was being assured by the Risk team, Customer care and management of the HDFC bank that your amount will be reversed to your account in 7 working days so I trusted on bank and decided not to lodge a cyber crime complaint but I am in totally shock to see a response from the team. Instead of investigating the security concerns of the bank you have very smartly blamed the customer for the transactions. We need the investigating report that what investigation you have done as your response not detailed and doesn’t gives any concrete satisfactory answer. I am sorry to say that still HDFC bank doest deserves to be one of the best banking solution provider in the Indian Sub Continent. The bank has to refund the money back to my account.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 3 Years ago by bhattac...CSL 1.73
I would like to draw your kind attention to the fact that I have a savings account bearing number 13010XXXXX074 in HDFC Bank, Daman Branch and I often make transaction through Net Banking. But, surprisingly it was found on 09.12.10 that an amount of Rs. 32000 has been debited from my account noted above through Third Party Transfer of Net Banking erroneously by the bank authority for which I have not given any authorization to the said branch. I am drawing clarification to your attention. I opened my salary account and activated Net Banking facility by HDFC since October 2006. But, unfortunately till today I never received any e-mail or SMS from HDFC Bank just to get basic awareness against Cyber Crime or any fraudulent incident happened recently, rather than almost regularly I am receiving e-mails and phone calls (sometimes)from Bank regarding Bank Loan facility, Family Insurance coverage, Credit Card activation, updating account sensitive details etc. If Bank claims that the account sensitive details have compromised by customer only, then Bank’s responsibility is to create awareness against cyber Crime to all customers after activation of Net Banking facility. Otherwise, how can a customer distinguish between a Phishing e-mail and original e-mail (both the e-mails are coming from HDFC Bank only) for the first time. It is also clearly indicating the inefficiency of Security and IT Department of HDFC Bank with respect to system traceability against cyber crime. To create a new salary account through any Bank, it requires true essential details like Valid and authenticated Telephone No, e-mail id, Pan Card details etc. But, to open a new salary account through HDFC, it requires either any Landline number or Mobile number not even e-mail id just to make the process easy and faster and bank doesn’t authenticate and validate Phone Number, e-mail id, communication address and other details by physical verification at the time of opening the account of any customer. Due to which fraud customers instantly opened his account and activated Net Banking facility through HDFC by using fraud & invalid e-mail id and landline/mobile no. HDFC Bank should not give blame on the basis of e-mail and SMS alert against the creation of new Beneficiary to the customer like me. After the incident happened, bank has physically verified about me. Still today I am fighting with HDFC to recover my partial recovery amount (Rs. 7022) kept by Bank only and as well as the remaining amount. Bank is pressurizing me that I have to accept and sign the terms and conditions sent by HDFC, otherwise bank will not give me the said reimbursement. Even I sought clarification to the Bank regarding the acceptance of my sending format through e-mail, but I didn’t receive any e-mail from Bank till now. I want them to credit the amount back to my account.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 3 Years ago by pawannp...CSL 1.73
I am holding a Salary Account in HDFC Bank A/C No 0193105004XXXX and was using a debit card of HDFC bank for cash withdrawal. One month before my debit card got damaged and I applied for the new debit card and pin number. I received my debit card and still waiting for them to provide pin number. I spoke to the customer care and asked them for the reason and they replied that due to incomplete address my debit card pin number has not been delivered. I asked if my address is incomplete how come I got my debit card and the cheque book. They did not give me any answer for that and said that they are resending the Pin number, but till date I have not received my pin number. Then I spoke to the complaint department of HDFC bank, they said that they are resending the Pin number. They gave my complaint number DEL335320 and said I will get it within next 3-4 working days. Still I did not receive it. When I contacted them they said that, it has been returned again. They have asked me to give a new request and also they arranged a call back on the same day. I received a call back from my home branch (Ashoka Niketan) from Ms Aarti stating that I will receive my pin number within next 3-4 working days. Still I did not get the pin number. I went to the branch and enquired about this. Now they are asking me to reapply for the pin code. I want them to provide the PIN number ASAP, because of this I am going and withdrawing the amount using my cheque
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 3 Years ago by tigerajayCSL 1.73
visa has promotional offer on buying movie tkt using visa debit card one would get next tkt on Rs.1. i booked 3 tkt on 15/8/2010 in www.bookmy show .com ( Trans ref. POS 4386240137278436 Book My Show DEB ) and it was flashed on screen that next time under scheme i would get tkts on Rs.1 but when on 2/10/2010 i again booked tkt using same hdfc visa card i was charged full amount booking i.d. WVND0001926717. such kind of cheating is not expected from visa.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 4 Years ago by Neetuma...CSL 1.73
yes i tried alot but they as are linking the same with my previous account for which i have called them many a time but i did nt get anything accept ignorance. as i have some due against my credit card and i was asking them to resolve the same.
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Worst
Click here to file similar complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Complaint 4 Years ago by SUNILMA...CSL 1.73
sir, i was my saving a/c no. 0045697905002 and fd A/c no. 0045697905001 which is linked with sb A/c.Bank had debited Unauthorised charges Rs.1980/ ( 660 on31/3/05,660 on 30/6/05,660 on 30/9/05) for minimum balance eventhough FD for Rs25000 is there w
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
 
HDFC Bank Savings AccountsProduct is Very Bad
Click here to submit a complaint for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Click here to submit a review for HDFC Bank Savings Accounts
Savings Accounts  by HDFC Bank Limited
Rated 2.44 4 Years ago by AnonymousCSL 1.73
I am an existing HDFC customer. Twice it happened to me that, when I tried to withdraw some amount from the banks ATM, the transaction failed but the amount was deducted from my account. The first time it happened, the amount deducted was just Rs. 200 but a week ago, I lost a cash of Rs. 8000. These ATM machines need to find a replacement or my money should be deposited back to my account
View Consumer ReportView Consumer Report
0 Vote UpVote Down 0
Go to HomeGo to HomeGo to TopGo to Top
Corner
CornerCorner